NEW YORK (PIX11) — Each New York City borough will have a free bus route starting Sunday.

It is part of an MTA pilot program agreed to during state budget negotiations.

Free NYC Bus Routes

  • Queens: Q4 LCL/LTD
  • Brooklyn: B60
  • Manhattan: M116
  • Staten Island: S46/96
  • The Bronx: BX18A/B

The pilot program will last for six to 12 months. Gov. Kathy Hochul said the program is about improving transit equity to serve all New Yorkers better.

Jonathan Rizk is a digital journalist who has covered local news in the New York City and Washington D.C. areas. He has been with PIX11 since August 2022. See more of his work here and follow him on Twitter.