Full list: Oscars 2016 In Memoriam

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LOS ANGELES –– Hollywood took a moment during the 88th annual Academy Awards to honor the special talents that were lost in the past year.

Oscar winner Louis Gosset Jr. introduced the tribute as Dave Grohl of “Foo Fighters” performed The Beatles hit “Blackbird.”

Those honored were:

Wes Craven, director; writer; producer

Stan Freberg, voice actor

Saeed Jaffrey, actor

Miroslav Ondricek, cinematographer

Robert Balser, animation director

Lizabeth Scott, actor

Stuart Reiss, set decorator

Robert Chartoff, producer

Murray Weissman, publicist

Jerry Weintraub, producer

James L. White, writer

Barbara Brogliatti, public relations executive

Omar Sharif, actor

Louis DiGiamio, casting director

Patricia Norris, costume designer

Dean Jones, actor

Ettore Scola, director; writer

Alan Rickman, actor

Haskell Wexler, cinematographer

Karolyn Ali, producer

Tex Rudloff, sound mixer

Richard Corliss, film critic

John B. Mansbridge, art director

Alex Rocco, actor

Kirk Kerkorian, executive

Bob Minkler, sound mixer

Douglas Slocombe, cinematographer

David W. Samuelson, cameraman; inventor

James Horner, composer

Bruce Sinofsky, documentarian

Frank D. Gilroy, writer

Holly Woodlawn, actor

James Elmo Williams, film editor; producer; executive

Howard A. Anderson, visual effects

Roger L. Mayer, executive; film preservation advocate

Albert Maysles, documentarian

Melissa Mathison, writer

Richard Glatzer, director and writer

David Bowie, musician and actor

Vilmos Zsigmond, cinematographer

Daniel Gerson, writer

Leonard Nimoy, actor and director

The Academy honored many others in a photo gallery tribute online.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Connect with PIX11 Online

Connect with PIX11 Online

Trending Stories

Don't Miss