Prize pitchers: Price, deGrom honored by NY baseball writers

NEW YORK — David Price has won the Babe Ruth award as postseason MVP in voting by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

After pitching the Boston Red Sox to their World Series title, Price will be honored along with other award winners at the chapter’s 96th annual dinner on Jan. 26 in Manhattan.

Mets ace Jacob deGrom was selected New York player of the year Friday, and teammate David Wright took the Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town award. Former general manager Sandy Alderson, who stepped down last summer after his cancer returned, was saluted with the Arthur and Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart award.

Yankees GM Brian Cashman will receive the Joan Payson/Shannon Forde award for community service. Longtime broadcaster Ken Singleton was tabbed for the Casey Stengel You Could Look It Up award, 40 years after he finished runner-up for AL MVP.

Mets outfielder Brandon Nimmo was an overwhelming choice for the Ben Epstein/Dan Castellano Good Guy award. Media relations dean Jay Horwitz got the William J. Slocum and Jack Lang Award for Long and Meritorious Service as he transitions to a new role as vice president of alumni public relations and team historian.

The Willie, Mickey & The Duke award will go to the 1969 Miracle Mets on the 50th anniversary of their championship season.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.