Flash Flood Warning issued for flood-prone parts of New York, New Jersey

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The National Weather Service  has issued a Flash Flood Warning for the following areas until 6 p.m. Friday evening as strong thunderstorms move through the region.

The counties under warning are:

  • Hudson County in northeastern New Jersey.
  • Union County in northeastern New Jersey
  • Southern Essex County in northeastern New Jersey
  • Richmond County (Staten Island) in southeastern New York
  • Kings County (Brooklyn)  in southeastern New York
  • New York (Manhattan) County in southeastern New York

At 4:24 P.M.,  Doppler radar indicated thunderstorms producing
heavy rain across the warned area. Flash flooding is expected to
begin shortly.

Some locations that will experience flooding include. Newark, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Flatbush, Bayonne, Hoboken, Linden, Orange, Coney Island, Summit, Millburn, Secaucus, Harrison, Todt Hill and Crown Heights.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.