1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios recalled over gluten allergy risk

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
These are the "better if used by" codes dates on the affected packages. )via Cheerios)

These are the “better if used by” code dates on the affected packages. (via Cheerios)

NEW YORK — General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour. [See above for “better if used by” code dates.)

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.