New Jersey high school students awarded with scholarships at Fairleigh Dickinson University

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

FLORHAM PARK, N.J.– Ten graduating high school students, from Morris County and surrounding areas, were honored during a ceremony at Fairleigh Dickinson University, in Florham Park.

More than a hundred guests and civic leaders attended.  Pi Theta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, held the annual event.  This year, the organization handed out $16,000 in scholarships.

The 2015 Pi Theta Award recipients are: Jonathan Alcantara – $3,000 of Hanover Park High School; Camille Carter – $2,000 of Morristown High School; Tyler Jones – $2,000 of Morristown High School; Tara Jones – $1,500 of Morristown High School; Kassina Dwyer – $1,500 of Morristown High School; Lucy Brice – $1,000 of Morristown High School.   The Marjorie M. Herbert HBCU Scholarship recipient is Uchechukwu White-Thorpe – $1,500 of Morris Knolls High School.  The Princess Anne E. Millard Scholarship recipient is Ebony Ashford – $1,500 of Morris Hills High School.  In addition, two Bookership Awards for community service were given to children of Pi Theta Omega members:  Chali Blackwell – $1,000 of West Orange High School; and Gabriele Dominique – $1,000 of Summit High School.

Over the past 22 years, Pi Theta Omega Chapter of Morristown, NJ,  has handed out over $100,000 in scholarships, at the annual event.  The recipients were honored for their high academic achievements and community service, and plan to attend two or four year colleges in the fall.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.