U2 releases surprise, free album on iTunes

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(PIX11) -- U2 performed at an Apple unveiling event on Tuesday in California.

The group revealed to their fans, anyone with an iTunes account could score their new album at no cost at all.

"Songs of Innocence" will be available for free on iTunes until October 13th, according to the band's website.

The tracks on the album are: The Miracle (of Joey Ramone), Every Breaking Wave, California (There Is No End To Love), Song For Someone, Iris (Hold Me Close), Volcano, Raised By Wolves, Cedarwood Road, Sleep Like A Baby Tonight, This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now, The Troubles.

The release of the album on October 13th comes with a 24-page booklet, a deluxe, gatefold double album, acoustic session of songs from the album, along with four additional tracks: Lucifer's Hands, The Crystal Ballroom, The Troubles (Alternative version) and Sleep Like a Baby Tonight (Alternative Perspective Mix by Tchad Blake)

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.