Boating safety tips and guides

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(PIX11)– Below are some safety tips and guides that will improve your boating experience.

These are some practices to becareful of, according to the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.

Boating While Intoxicated

No one may operate a vessel on the waters of NYS while impaired or intoxicated through the consumption of either alcohol or drugs. New York law now prescribes heavy fines, imprisonment, and the suspension of operator privileges for violators.


Vessel speed is generally limited to 5 mph when within 100 feet of the shore, a dock, pier, raft, float, or anchored boat. Local laws and ordinances may further regulate the speed of boats operated within specific areas; check with authorities regarding local regulations.


Overloading any boat will decrease stability and reduce performance. A capacity plate placed aboard vessels less than 21 feet in length will tell you just how much weight and/or people the boat may safely carry. At no time should the capacities of the vessel be exceeded.

Operators should also strictly follow the manufacturer’s recommendations for engine size. A larger engine may make your boat run faster, however it may have not been designed to handle the weight or stress.

Bow riding

Bow riding is extremely dangerous, unless the vessel has an open bow designed specifically for passengers. If the boat hits a large wake or wave, or makes a sudden, sharp turn, the person riding the bow may be thrown overboard. Captains should insist that their passengers take a seat, and stay in that seat, while the boat is underway

NY, NJ and CT Boating Guides
In New York, for more information on regulations that pertain to boating, registration and safety information, use the 2014 NY State Boater’s Guide.

New Jersey Police Boating Safety Manual has everything sailors need to know about boating regulations in the Garden State.

For safety regulations in Connecticut, refer to  the 2014 Connecticut Boater’s Guide.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.