Meet the US Men’s World Cup National Team

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
USA Training Press Conference - 2014 FIFA World Cup

SAO PAULO, BRAZIL - JUNE 11: Brad Davis, Michael Bradley and the rest of the US Men's National Team run drills during their training session at Sao Paulo FC on June 11, 2014 in Sao Paulo, Brazil. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

The Team

  • Coach: Juergen Klinsmann — he won the World Cup himself with the West Germany team in 1990 and played as a striker for prominent teams including AS Monaco, Tottenham and Bayern Munich
  • Goalkeepers: Tim Howard, Nick Rimando, Brad Guzan
  • Midfielders: Michael Bradley, Mix Diskerud, Jermaine Jones, Julian Green, Graham Zusi, Alejandro Bedoya, Brad Davis, Kyle Beckerman
  • Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley, DeAndre Yedlin, Matt Besler, Geoff Cameron, Fabian Johnson, Omar Gonzalez, John Brooks, Timmy Chandler
  • Forwards: Clint Dempsey, Jozy Altidore, Aron Johannsson, Chris Wondolowski

The Stars

  • Tim Howard — this star goalkeeper is from North Brunswick, New Jersey. He also plays for Everton, and has played for Manchester United. In 2007, he played through a game with a dislocated finger, and in 2013, played through a game with two broken bones in his back.
  • Michael Bradley — from Princeton, New Jersey and attended Princeton University. He has played in teams across the world, including teams in Germany, Italy, Netherlands, England, and now Canada. He currently plays for Toronto FC. He is the son of the last US Men’s team’s manager.
  • Clint Dempsey — is the captain. He grew up in a trailer park in Nacogdoches, Texas and currently plays for the Seattle Sounders. He was the first American player to score a hat-trick in the English Premier League.

About the World Cup

32 international teams (click here to see all teams) are organized into four groups. Each group contains eight teams with similar skill levels, based on recent World Cup performance and FIFA world rankings.

To make a group, FIFA randomly picks one team from each of the four groups.

The US team was sorted into Group G last December — along with Ghana, Portugal and Germany.

In the group stage, each team plays every other team within their group one time. This means the US will play three games in the group stage.

The two teams from each group with the most points will advance to the knockout stage. The point system gives three points for a win, one point for a draw, and zero for a loss.

If two or more teams are tied in points, FIFA looks at the greater goal difference and then greater number of goals scored.

16 winning teams go on to the knockout stage, and start playing teams from other groups.

In the knockout stage, the point system is no longer in play — if a team loses , they are out of the competition.

If there is a draw in any knockout game, an extra 30 mins are added. If the game is still tied, each team gets five attempts on the other goal in a penalty shootout.

The team with the most goals out of five wins. If the penalties are still even, teams continue in sudden death rounds until one team scores and the opposing team does not.

Eight teams will remain in the next round, then four in the semifinals and then two teams in the final.


  • USA v. Ghana  — June 16 2014 — 6 p.m. EST — ESPN
  • USA v. Portugal — June 22 2014 — 6 p.m. EST– ESPN
  • USA v. Germany — June 26 2014 — 12 p.m. EST — ESPN
  • Click here for a complete schedule of games.
  • Click here for a complete list of  US TV coverage.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.