Neighbors want the name of subway station changed

Posted: 12:05 PM, Mar 10, 2014
Updated: 2014-03-11 11:45:55-04

There are 468 subway stations in New York City.

Officially, the name of the stations comes from a specific geographic location or street. Neighbors in Briarwood, Queens don’t think “Van Wyck” needs to be attached to their station along the E & F Queens Boulevard Line.

Most subway station names correspond to a street directly located at the entrance. Neighbors in Briarwood say the Van Wyck runs through many communities and it doesn’t describe the location.

Some other stations in Brooklyn reference a nearby road that crosses a number of subway lines. Some of the supporters of the name change say “Briarwood” is more specific.

Brooklyn subway map

Four Brooklyn stations on three different lines share a common name. There are others in the system.

Assemblymember David Weprin has introduced a bill to change the name of the Briarwood-Van Wyck Station. The measure still needs to have a hearing and co-sponsor.

The New York State Department of Transportation is completing a major redesign project of Queens Boulevard and the Van Wyck Expressway at this location. Two new subway entrances are included in the project, which is running behind schedule.

The expressway is named after Robert A. Van Wyck, the mayor of New York City from 1898-1901.