Click here for a holiday treat, every day from PIX11

Separating fact from fiction about gluten-free foods

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(PIX11) -- There is still come confusion about what gluten-free products contain. We tackle the truths about exactly what they are with registered dietician Keri Gans. She helps us separate fact from fiction.

The FDA define's gluten-free as any food that doesn't contain any of the following:

  • an ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains
  • an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten
  • an ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten

Here's a list of gluten-free products

1. KIND snack bars -- so many people see gluten free and assume a good choice, need to read label

2. Fruit - NO label needed, naturally gluten free AND sweet !!

3. Veggies - naturally gluten free and no matter what type of diet you follow YOU need to eat more of these

4. Eggs - just one of MANY protein sources -- protein is gluten free - but if dining out or grabbing take out ASK first - gluten could be added in a marinate.

5. Brown rice cakes - all types of rice are gluten free -- top with almond butter for a delicious snack.